Home  > About the province  > Democratic Government

Democratic Government


The provincial government is elected for a period of six years, from 3 December 2018 to 30 November 2024. The next provincial council elections will be held in 2024.

The provincial council

The provincial council consists of 36 members and functions as the province's "parliament". The council meets at least once a month.

Parties represented in the provincial council:

  • N-VA: 10 seats (European affiliation: EFA)
  • CD&V: 7 seats (European affiliation: EPP)
  • Open VLD: 5 seats (European affiliation: ALDE)
  • Groen: 6 seats (European affiliation: EGP)
  • sp.a: 3 seats (European affiliation: PES)
  • VLAAMS BELANG: 3 seats (European affiliation: EAF)
  • UF: 2 seats (no European affiliation)

The Board of Vice-Governors

The governor, the six vice-governors and the secretary-general of Flemish Brabant (FLTR: Monique Swinnen, Tom Dehaene, Lodewijk De Witte, Marc Collier, Ann Schevenels, Bart Nevens)

The board of vice-governors ('Deputatie') is responsible for the daily administration of the province. The board has six members who meet every week. Each vice-governor has a specific number of responsibilities.

  • Bart Nevens (N-VA - EFA)
  • Tom Dehaene (CD&V - EPP)
  • Ann Schevenels (Open VLD - ALDE)
  • Monique Swinnen (CD&V - EPP)
  • Lodewijk De Witte (governor)
  • Marc Collier (secretary-general)

The governor

Lodewijk De Witte has been the governor of the province of Flemish Brabant since its creation. The governor chairs the board of vice-governors. He is a commissioner of the Flemish and federal government and has a number of specific duties including the coordination of relief measures during major disasters.

The Secretary-General

The secretary-general ('griffier'), Marc Collier, is the secretary of the provincial council and of the board of vice-governors. As head of staff, he is responsible for the smooth operation of the provincial administration.

The administration

The provincial administration consists of approximately 750 civil servants. Most of them work in the Provincial House in Leuven, others in provincial areas, the provincial education institutions and other branches.


Communication department
Tel.: +32 16 26 70 00
E-mail: info@vlaamsbrabant.be